Telegram

Welcome to my first post! As a way of introduction, I would like to share with you a poem that was written for me by my good friend and poet Harry Owen, in response to his visit to my home and studio. The title of the work is inspired by my old studio door that has a slot through which one can post letters and telegrams:

TELEGRAM

By Harry Owen

KUDU SKULL HEAVY ON TIN ROOF

MAKES OBEISANCE [STOP] GARDEN EARTH

PRICKLES INTO AIR   GROWS LIKE BONE

OR NAIL [STOP] HONEST SOIL [STOP]

WHEELS   RUSTED SINKS   BROKEN POTS   THE ART

WE LEAVE BEHIND AS

REMEMBERED

WE BREATHE [STOP]

WHO CLINGS OVER THERE

TO ASPHALT EXISTENCE [QUERY]

NO LACK OF POTENTIAL   ONLY

OF COURAGE [STOP] FREEDOM   THAT IS [STOP / STOP]

SAD [STOP]

HADEDAS   PAIRED WEATHER VANES

GROOM QUIETLY

SCRAWP THEIR WAY OFF

INTO PREHISTORY   TAKING US WITH THEM

[DON’T STOP / DON’T STOP / DON’T STOP]

[STOP]

Categories: Inspiration, My Studio | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Telegram

  1. Dawn Long

    Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful…………..

  2. Lynn

    How simply splendid to read such a beautiful poem on your very first blog…. Gosh the world is a better place with you in it….Thank you for being you… X

  3. Rusty Robins

    Am loving this:))

  4. Wonderful, so rich. Veryan and I were so lucky to visit you at your beautiful studio when we come from Canada. I wish I lived nearer to you, you inspire me. I have a poet friend form Canada who is going to Grahamstown next year and I want to send her to meet you.

    • Oh good! I look forward to meeting her and will introduce her to the Reddits Poetry evening that is held once a month in Grahamstown. It’s a great event and she will get to hear a wide cross section of South African poetry. I also wish you lived closer, as I’m sure we could do great things together! I still have the poem that Veryan wrote for me after you were both here, and with his permission, would love to put that into one of my future posts. Come and visit again soon!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

