Recent Work

One of the best things about going away is coming home.

After a few days exploring the antique shops of Port Elizabeth, and a couple more roaming the hills of the Winterberg, I open the door of my art studio and feel my heart soar.  The break has done me good and now I stand in the doorway looking at the artwork on the wall as if I’m seeing it for the first time.  I am satisfied with the four large aloe paintings that I have been working on for the past six months. Tomorrow I must sign them and take them to the framer and then work must begin on the exhibitions I have planned for 2015.

I reach for my camera in order to record the moment.

Looking across the studio to the four recently completed commissioned artworks

Looking across the studio to the four recently completed commissioned artworks

The desert scenes in my art studio

The desert scenes in my art studio

Scenes of the Okavango Delta and the Eastern Cape

Scenes of the Okavango Delta and the Eastern Cape

Two recetly completed paintings of Asante Sana, a nature conservancy in the Eastern Cape

Two recently completed paintings of Asante Sana, a nature conservancy in the Eastern Cape. Each artwork is 60cm x 98cm

My most recent work, two aloe paintings, scenes from the area around Grahamstown

My most recent work, two aloe paintings, scenes from the area around Grahamstown. Each artwork is 60cm x 98cm

These four aloe artworks will soon be on their way to Cape Town and though I will miss their company, I am happy to know that they have found a good home.

Categories: Landscapes, My Studio | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Recent Work

  1. Pippa Rees

    Beautiful work Sally!

  2. Your studio and your work is lovely!

  3. Shona Domeris

    Hi Sally, just returned yesterday from our annual visit to the family in Switzerland, what a treat to open your webpage and see your stunning work. Thank you for sharing. Lots of love

  4. Lin van der Merwe

    Hi Sal, Spud and I have thoroughly enjoyed your incredible art. Spud uses water colours, acrylic and oils. He enjoys them all, but has never worked with pastels. He thinks your work is amazing. Lovely to see.

    • Hi Lin. Wonderful to hear from you and so pleased that you have enjoyed seeing my work. I didn’t know that Spud also paints! I love working in pastel,though it can be a very challenging medium. Like anything, it improves with practice! So good to be in contact with you again.

  5. Cath Henninger

    Your play with light has captured such different atmospheres in the first and second subjects!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

